1

Dropbox Corruption warning

Guys, this sudden alert that comes up in 8 about not saving to Dropbox - This is a big problem. 

Dropbox is my core workflow. I have my entire client library in a Dropbox as a constant backup - it's where I work from all the time natively. 

This sudden problem in v8 is (forcing me to) (scaring me to) comply, which means every time I work on video, I have to move the entire workflow for that project onto my desktop, then remember to move it back when I'm done. 

Why has this suddenly become an issue in 8?

More importantly, why is it incumbent on ME to change what I'm doing, rather than for Screenflow to simply fix the issue and release a version that actually works, regardless of where my workflow is?

It feels like a bandaid fix to a software release - put out a warning, rather than fix it so a warning is not necessary. 

Can this be done, or am I left with hedging my bets in Dropbox (or shift my whole workflow?)

8replies Oldest first
  • Oldest first
  • Newest first
  • Active threads
  • Popular
    • CraigSModerator
    • Telestream Desktop Forum Moderator
    • CraigS
    • 3 yrs ago
    • Reported - view

    The problem is Dropbox will corrupt the files during the sync process. There's nothing we can do about that. The issue has always existed. Since so many users were reporting corrupted documents we included the warning. 

    Save locally. Then zip the ScreenFlow document (I prefer adding it to a folder and zipping that) then copy to Dropbox.

    Like
    • CraigSModerator
    • Telestream Desktop Forum Moderator
    • CraigS
    • 3 yrs ago
    • Reported - view
    Matt Steinruck said:
    why is it incumbent on ME to change what I'm doing, rather than for Screenflow to simply fix the issue

     The issue is DropBox sync, not ScreenFlow.

    In fact the issue is with any cloud syncing service. The technology behind syncing doesn't handle document packages properly.

    Like
  • Hi CraigS , I've been doing some poking around the forums on this topic. With the issue about "technology behind syncing not handling document packages properly", does it only affect Screenflow files or all files?

    Like
    • CraigSModerator
    • Telestream Desktop Forum Moderator
    • CraigS
    • 3 yrs ago
    • Reported - view

    Eric Kyles It depends on the program but generally, an active document shouldn't be in a cloud folder since ScreenFlow is accessing at the same time it's syncing.
    After you're done with a document you can certainly save it in the cloud.

    Like
  • CraigS Ah, sounds like the issue with Dropbox+Screenflow only really comes into play when you are directly editing a Screenflow file that lives only in the cloud.

    If I want to safely edit a Screenflow file that currently lives on Dropbox, would you say it would be appropriate to do it in this order?

    1. Open Screenflow file directly from Dropbox.
    2. Save entire updated file to a local drive.
    3. Move file back into Dropbox and replace the previous version (optional: put it in a folder and zip it up first).
    Like
    • CraigSModerator
    • Telestream Desktop Forum Moderator
    • CraigS
    • 3 yrs ago
    • Reported - view

    Eric Kyles Dropbox syncs with the cloud so you should not edit a file in a cloud linked folder.

    File should be in a non-cloud location. Edit it. Save it. Then place it in a cloud sync folder.

    Like 1
  • It seems that  Dropbox Smartsync renders Screenflow Projects unusable  and I have learnt this  hard way:

    1/Recent  Screenflow Project  'DVD edit'  ended up 39Gb - so I put on Dropbox ( took overnight to upload) and then used Dropbox Smartsync  free up space on my hard drive.

    2/ When I went to the Dropbox folder to  revert  'DVD edit'  to a local file again Dropbox went into a dysfunctional mode and froze with error messages... (see snapshot). It looks like Dropbox cannot fully restore the Screenflow file to desktop.

    3/ Looks like 'DVD edit'  - some 6 hours of work  - is not recoverable. ( My mistake to not first back  it up to an external hard drive).

    Any helpful comments welcome...

    PS @Matt S  - wish I had seen this thread first.... :)

      • CraigSModerator
      • Telestream Desktop Forum Moderator
      • CraigS
      • 2 yrs ago
      • Reported - view

      Adam Glasser ScreenFlow 9 should throw a warning if you try to save directly to a Dropbox synced folder. What will work is to save the document locally in a folder and then zip the folder and place that in Dropbox. When you need access you'd want to download and then unzip. In other words, avoid accessing the document while in a synced location.

      Like
Like1 Follow
  • 1 Likes
  • 2 yrs agoLast active
  • 8Replies
  • 232Views
  • 4 Following